Au sujet du projet

Le projet Origines africaines fait appel à l’aide du public pour déterminer les origines historiques d’Africains transportés pendant la traite négrière transatlantique. Ce site Web offre de l’information détaillée sur plus de 90 000 Africains libérés des négriers au début du 19e siècle. Toute personne possédant des connaissances liées aux langues africaines, aux pratiques culturelles de nomination et aux groupes ethniques peut contribuer à ce projet en utilisant ses propres compétences à reconnaître l’origine ethnolinguistique probable d’un nom africain.

Pour obtenir plus d’information, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe du projet Origines africaines.

Historique du projet

Le projet Origines africaines prend sa source directement des travaux de G. Ugo Nwokeji et de David Eltis qui, en 2002, ont produit des enregistrements sonores à partir de noms trouvés dans les registres des cours de commission mixte de la Havane à Cuba et de Freetown au Sierra Leone afin de déterminer leurs origines ethnolinguistiques probables. Sur ces bandes sonores, les noms ont été prononcés par des personnes parlant la même langue et ayant probablement le même accent que les greffiers des cours de commission mixte (par exemple, si le nom était consigné dans le registre de la Havane, Eltis et Nwokeji l’ont fait prononcer par un hispanophone ayant un accent havanais). Cette précaution a permis de faire le lien entre la prononciation du nom et son orthographe, ainsi qu’une détermination plus juste des origines ethniques possibles du nom que son orthographe seule n’aurait autrement autorisée. Eltis et Nwokeji ont fait écouter ces bandes sonores à des informateurs du Nigeria, de Sierra Leone, d’Angola et à des membres de la diaspora africaine dans certaines régions d’Amérique du Nord, qui ont pu déterminer les groupes ethniques probables auxquels appartient tel ou tel nom à partir de sa prononciation. Une pareille recherche faisant intervenir un participant à la fois, bien qu’efficace, a exigé énormément de temps et n’a permis qu’un peu plus de deux identifications pour chaque nom africain figurant dans les registres. Dans le cadre du présent projet, il s’agit d’appliquer une méthode en ligne qui fait largement appel à la contribution de bénévoles.

L’équipe du projet

Beaucoup de personnes ont contribué à la création de ce site. L’équipe se compose des personnes mentionnées ci-dessous qui, sauf indication contraire, sont des membres de l’université Emory.

PRINCIPAUX RESPONSABLES DU PROJET

  • David Eltis – Woodruff Professeur d’histoire (Emory Université, Atlanta, Géorgie, É.-U.).
  • Martin Halbert – (chercheur principal associé jusqu’en septembre 2009) – Doyen des bibliothèques et professeur agrégé (Université de Texas, Denton, Texas, É.-U.).
  • Philip Misevich – (chercheur principal associé depuis août 2010) – Professeur adjoint en Histoire (Université de St. John's, New York, É.-U.)

L’ÉQUIPE D’ÉLABORATION DU PROJET

  • Richard Anderson – Consultante pour Sierra Leone (Yale Université, E.-U.)
  • Edna Bay – Consultante pour la diffusion dans la diaspora africaine
  • Alex Borucki – Chercheur (Université de la Californie, Irvine, E.-U.)
  • Kwesi DeGraft-Hanson – Consultant pour le Ghana
  • Domingos Dellamonica – Programmeur
  • Daniel B. Domingues da Silva – Consultant pour l’Afrique Centrale et traducteur vers le Portugais (Université du Missouri, E.-U.)
  • Suzan Eltis – Lectrice des noms anglais
  • Omar Granados – Lecteur des noms espagnols
  • Premysl Herold – Programmeur
  • Mark Kendall – Volontaire et Assistant de recherche
  • Nafees M. Khan – Coordinateur de la liaison et responsable de la diffusion pour la diaspora
  • Paul Lachance (Université d'Ottawa, Canada)
  • Henry Lovejoy – Chercheur et Consultant pour les registres Havane (Université de la Californie, Los Angeles, Californie, É.-U.)
  • Leonardo Marques – Montage audio et sensibilisation et traducteur vers le Portugais
  • Stacey Martin – Consultante en système d’information géographique
  • Liz Milewicz – Directrice du projet (2009-2011)
  • Philip Misevich – Consultant pour la Haute-Guinée (Université de St. John's, New York, É.-U.)
  • Lovia Mondésir – Traductrice vers le français
  • Oscar Grandio Moráguez – Lecteur des noms espagnols (Université de York, Toronto, Ontario, Canada)
  • G Ugo Nwokeji – Consultant pour le Nigeria (Université de la Californie, Berkeley, Californie, É.-U.)
  • Ijeoma Ohiaeri – Consultant pour le Nigeria et conseiller itinérant
  • Olatunji Ojo – Consultant pour le Nigeria et le Bénin (Brock Université, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada)
  • Frank Owen – Ingénieur en informatique (Owenworks, Inc., Blacksburg, Virginia, É.-U.)
  • Michael Page – Consultant en système d’information géographique.
  • Daniel Prentis – Responsable technique (Kaktus Software, Prague, République tchèque)
  • Jan Zich – Conseiller technique (dpreview.com/Amazon, Seattle, E.-U.)

CONSEILLERS EN RECHERCHE

  • Edna Bay (Université Emory, Atlanta, Géorgie, É.-U.)
  • Kwesi DeGraft-Hanson (Université Emory, Atlanta, Géorgie, É.-U.)
  • Daniel B. Domingues da Silva (Université Emory, Atlanta, Géorgie, É.-U.)
  • Walter Hawthorne (Université d’État du Michigan, East Lansing, Michigan, É.-U.)
  • Linda Heywood (Université de Boston, Boston, Massachusetts, É.-U.)
  • Allen Howard (Rutgers, Université d’État de New Jersey, New Brunswick, New Jersey, É.-U.)
  • Henry Lovejoy – Chercheur et Consultant pour les registres Havane (Université de la Californie, Los Angeles, Californie, É.-U.)
  • Philip Misevich (Université de Denison, Granville, Ohio, É.-U.)
  • G. Ugo Nwokeji (Université de Californie, Berkeley, Californie, É.-U.)
  • Olatunji Ojo (Brock Université, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada)
  • Elisée Soumonni (Université Nationale du Bénin, Cotonou, Bénin)
  • John Thornton (Université de Boston, Boston, Massachusetts, É.-U.)

Premiers Contributeurs de noms africains

En plus de la collaboration du grand public qui a rendu et continue de rendre possible la reconstruction de l’histoire des Africains, nous aimerions remercier ces personnes dont la connaissance, la disponibilité et les travaux sont précieux pour le lancement de ce site:
  • Kwesi DeGraft-Hanson
  • Tazieff Koroma
  • Henry Lovejoy
  • Philip Misevich
  • G. Ugo Nwokeji
  • Ijeoma Ohiaeri
  • Olatunji Ojo

Promoteurs

UNIVERSITÉ EMORY

L’Université Emory est une institution reconnue à l’échelle internationale pour ses recherches axées sur des enquêtes, son engagement moral et sa clientèle diversifiée. C’est également une université dont les membres collaborent étroitement à rendre le monde meilleur grâce au fort leadership dont ils font preuve en ce qui a trait à l’enseignement, à la recherche, à la mission professorale, à la santé et à l’action sociale. Les bibliothèques de l’université Emory ont joué un rôle de premier plan dans l’établissement d’un réseau de bibliothèques numériques d’un bout à l’autre des États-Unis. Destination de choix pour les étudiants et les chercheurs, ces bibliothèques soutiennent les initiatives d’innovation technologique, la constitution de collections de recherche ainsi que l’élaboration de programmes éducatifs de première qualité.

FONDS NATIONAL POUR LES LETTRES ET LES SCIENCES HUMAINES

Le Fonds National pour les Lettres et les Sciences Humaines (en anglais La National Endowment for the Humanities) est une agence de subvention publique du gouvernement américain créé pour soutenir la recherche, l’éducation, la préservation et les programmes publics dans le domaine des lettres et des sciences humaines. Le projet Origines Africaines a été financé par une division de la NEH: la branche Préservation et Accès qui assure le leadership dans l’effort national de préserver et de rendre accessible les héritages et ressources culturels; ce qui constitue le fondement pour la recherche, l’éducation et les programmes publics dans les Sciences humaines.

INSTITUT W.E.B. DU BOIS POUR LA RECHERCHE SUR LES AFRICAINS ET LES AFRO-AMERICAINS

L’Institut W.E.B. Du Bois pour la Recherche sur les Africains et les Afro-Américains (en anglais, W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research) promeut l’étude et la connaissance de l’expérience de la diaspora africaine grâce à l’octroi de bourses aux universitaires, au parrainage d’une vaste gamme d’activités et de projets à saveur culturelle et pédagogique, ainsi qu’à la participation à d’autres programmes de sensibilisation communautaire.

Remerciements

Bien des personnes ont participé à la réalisation de ce projet. La liste en est trop longue pour qu’on puisse les nommer toutes ici. À l’instar des divers départements et membres de l’Université Emory et du Fonds National pour les Lettres et les Sciences Humaines que nous remercions chaudement pour leur soutien à ce projet, nos remerciements s’adressent particulièrement à Marcy Alexander, du département d’Histoire de l’Université Emory pour son attention et l’aide qu’elle a fournie en ce qui touche les besoins administratifs du présent projet.

 
up arrow
DBI Institut W.E.B. Du Bois
de l'Université Harvard
Fonds National pour les Sciences humaines et les Lettres Fonds National pour les
Sciences humaines et les Lettres
Université Emory
Promoteurs:
Origines Africaines : Portail des Africains libérés des bateaux
de la traite transatlantique.
Droits d’auteur : Université Emory 2009. Tous droits réservés.
 
Site dessiné par KAKTUS Software Spol. s r.o.

contributor not logged

About this project

The African Origins Project invites members of the public to assist in identifying the historical origins of Africans transported in the transatlantic slave trade. This website presents details of thousands of Africans liberated from slaving vessels in the early 19th century. Those with knowledge of African languages, cultural naming practices, and ethnic groups can assist in identifying these Africans' origins by drawing on their own expertise to identify the likely ethno-linguistic origin of an individual's name.

For more information, contact the African Origins project team.

History of the Project

The African Origins project arose directly from the work of G. Ugo Nwokeji and David Eltis, who in 2002 used audio recordings of names found in Courts of Mixed Commission records for Havana, Cuba, and Freetown, Sierra Leone, to identify likely ethno-linguistic origins. The names in these recordings were pronounced by speakers of the same language and accent that the Courts of Mixed Commission registrars would likely have had (e.g., if the name was written in a Havana register, Eltis and Nwokeji had the name pronounced by a Spanish speaker with a Havana accent). This helped connect the sound of the name to its spelling and thus enabled a more accurate assessment of the name’s possible ethnic origins than provided by its written counterpart alone. Eltis and Nwokeji played these recordings to informants in Nigeria, Sierra Leone, and Angola and to members of the African diaspora in parts of North America, who were able to identify through these pronunciations the likely ethnic group from which the name derived. Such one-on-one research with informants, though successful, proved highly time consuming and yielded little more than two identifications for each African in their dataset, and led to the pursuit of an online method of broadly soliciting volunteers to assist with this project.

Project Team

Many people contributed to the creation and implementation of this site. They include the following (unless otherwise indicated, Project Development Team members were affiliated with Emory University):

NEH GRANT PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATORS

  • David Eltis – Woodruff Professor of History (Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA)
  • Martin Halbert (co-PI through September 2009) – Dean of Libraries and Associate Professor (University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, USA)
  • Philip Misevich (co-PI from August 2010) - Assistant Professor of History (Denison University, Granville, Ohio, USA)

PROJECT DEVELOPMENT TEAM

  • Richard Anderson – Sierra Leone Consultant (Yale University, USA)
  • Edna Bay – Diaspora Outreach Consultant
  • Alex Borucki – Researcher, University of California at Irvine, USA)
  • Kwesi DeGraft-Hanson – Ghana Consultant
  • Domingos Dellamonica – Programmer
  • Daniel B. Domingues da Silva – Central Africa Consultant and Portuguese Translator (University of Missouri, Columbia, USA)
  • Suzan Eltis – English Name Pronunciations
  • Mark Kendall – Volunteer Research Assistant
  • Omar Granados – Havana-Spanish Name Pronunciations
  • Premysl Herold – Programmer
  • Nafees M. Khan – Diaspora Liaison and Outreach Coordinator (2009-2011) and Project manager (2011-12)
  • Paul Lachance (University of Ottawa)
  • Henry Love – Research Assistant
  • Henry Lovejoy – Havana Register Research (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Leonardo Marques – Audio Editor, Outreach Assistant, and Portuguese Translator
  • Oscar Grandio Moráguez – Spanish Name Pronunciations (York University, Toronto, Canada)
  • Stacey Martin – GIS Consultant
  • Liz Milewicz – Project Manager (2009-2011)
  • Philip Misevich – Upper Guinea Consultant (St. John’s University, New York, USA)
  • Lovia Mondesir – French Translator
  • G. Ugo Nwokeji – Nigeria Consultant (University of California, Berkeley, California, USA)
  • Ijeoma Ohiaeri – Nigeria Consultant and Outreach Advisor
  • Olatunji Ojo – Benin and Nigeria Consultant (Brock University, St. Catharines, Canada)
  • Frank Owen – Systems Engineer (Owenworks, Inc., Blacksburg, Virginia, USA)
  • Daniel Prentis – Technical Lead (Kaktus Software, Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Jan Zich – Technical Consultant (dpreview.com/Amazon, Seattle, USA)

SCHOLAR ADVISORS

  • Edna Bay (Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA)
  • Daniel B. Domingues da Silva (Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA)
  • Kwesi DeGraft-Hanson (Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA)
  • Allen Howard (Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA)
  • Walter Hawthorne (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan, USA)
  • Linda Heywood (Boston University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA)
  • Henry Lovejoy -- Havana Register Research (University of California, Los Angeles, California, USA)
  • Philip Misevich (Denison University, Granville, Ohio, USA)
  • G. Ugo Nwokeji (University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA)
  • Olatunji Ojo (Brock University, St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada)
  • Elisée Soumonni (Université Nationale du Bénin, Cotonou, Benin)
  • John Thornton (Boston University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA)

Early Contributors of African Names

In addition to the numerous and anonymous members of the public whose suggestions have and will continue to make possible the reconstruction of Africans’ history, we would like to thank the following individuals whose knowledge, time, and research were invaluable to launching this project.

  • Kwesi DeGraft-Hanson
  • Tazieff Koroma
  • Henry Lovejoy
  • Philip Misevich
  • G. Ugo Nwokeji
  • Ijeoma Ohiaeri
  • Olatunji Ojo

Sponsors

EMORY UNIVERSITY

Emory University is internationally recognized as an inquiry-driven, ethically engaged, and diverse community, whose members work collaboratively for positive transformation in the world through courageous leadership in teaching, research, scholarship, health care, and social action. Emory University Libraries have played a leadership role in building a national digital library network, supporting innovative technology initiatives, and developing premier research collections and instructional programs that make the library a destination for students and scholars.

The Emory University Office of the Provost's Research Collaboration in the Humanities grant program fosters interdisciplinary research in the humanities and multi-disciplinary collaborations between the humanities and the social and hard sciences. The grant program builds on Emory’s existing strengths in the humanities while building new conversations across a spectrum of disciplines.

NATIONAL ENDOWMENT FOR THE HUMANITIES

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) is an independent grant-making agency of the United States government dedicated to supporting research, education, preservation, and public programs in the humanities. Each year the NEH designates a portion of its grants as "We the People" projects -- a special recognition by the NEH for model projects that advance the study, teaching, and understanding of American history and culture.

W.E.B. DU BOIS INSTITUTE FOR AFRICAN AND AFRICAN AMERICAN RESEARCH

Through fellowships to scholars, sponsorship of a range of cultural and educational events and projects, and affiliation with other outreach programs, the W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research advances study and understanding of the African diasporic experience.

Acknowledgments

Many individuals supported the work of the project and the project team, too numerous to name here. In addition to heartfelt thanks to the various individuals at Emory University, Emory University Libraries, and the National Endowment for the Humanities who provided assistance to this project, we especially acknowledge Marcy Alexander and Allison Rollins of Emory University’s History Department, for the considerable attention and care they gave to supporting the administrative needs of this project.
 
up arrow
DBI W.E.B Du Bois Institute
(Harvard University)
National Endowment for the Humanities National Endowment
for the Humanities
Emory University
Sponsors:
African Origins: Portal to Africans Liberated from Transatlantic
Slave Vessels. Copyright 2009 Emory University. All rights reserved.
 
Web Design by KAKTUS Software Spol. s r.o.